In an unusual step for a band, but perfectly logical for Massive Attack,
 EMI has released the collected singles as well as all the remixes for every
 album release this act has produced. Surprisingly, the output from the three
 long players they have produced comes in this box seto ELEVEN CDs : 
that’s a lot of singles and remixes.
Obviously this beautifully designed and produced package is not 
for the faint of heart : it’s truly for the hard core fan. But if you do 
decide to get your hands on the whole collection,
 your mind will be opened to the almost unending possibilities 
of a core song’s potential as well as the remixing world.
 It’s great to be able to compare different mixes from the creme
 of the remixing crop : names like Brian Eno, Paul Oakenfold, 
Nellee Hooper, Portishead, Underworld, Manic Street Preachers,
 Tim Simenon and Mad Professor are featured,
 as a Massive Attack job is one of the top remixing gigs around.
The one drawback of such an extensive collection,
 is that you are bound to listen to the same song
 at least 6 times in a row. While this is fascinating for 
anthropological purposes, it is not your usual every day 
listening fare. Instead, for day to day use, take the best of the
 best, and compile your own mix CD from your favorite remixes. 
The whole collection is here for you to make your selection
 and realise how essential Massive Attack were in the 90’s 
emerging trip hop/intelligent dance music scene.
password: downloaded@MOODSWINGSmusic

Disc: 1
1. Daydreaming (Album Version)
2. Daydreaming (Luv It Mix)
3. Daydreaming (Brixton Bass Mix)
4. Daydreaming (Luv It Dub)
5. Any Love (2)
Disc: 2
1. Unifinished Sympathy (Original)
2. Unifinished Sympathy (Nelee Hooper 7in Mix)
3. Unifinished Sympathy (Nelee Hooper 12in Mix)
4. Unifinished Sympathy (Perfecto Mix)
5. Unifinished Sympathy (Instrumental)

Disc: 3
1. Safe From Harm (Original)
2. Safe From Harm (7in Version)
3. Safe From Harm (12in Version)
4. Safe From Harm (Perfecto Mix)
5. Safe From Harm (Just A Groove Dub)
6. Safe From Harm (Just A Dub)

Disc: 4
1. Hymn Of The Big Wheel (Original)
2. Hymn Of The Big Wheel (Nelee Hooper Mix)
3. Home Of The Whale
4. Be Thankful For What You’ve Got (Perfecto Mix)
5. Any Love (Larry Heard Mix)

Disc: 5
1. Sly (Album Version)
2. Sly (7in Edit)
3. Sly (7 Stones Mix)
4. Sly (Underdog Mix)
5. Sly (Underdog Double Bass & Accapella)
6. Sly (Cosmic Dub)
7. Sly (Eternal Feedback Dub)

Disc: 6
1. Protection (Album Version)
2. Protection (7in Edit)
3. Protection (Underdog’s Angel Dust Mix)
4. Protection (Radiation For The Nation)
5. Protection (The Eno Mix)
6. Protection (J Swift Mix)

Disc: 7
1. Karmacoma (Album Version)
2. Karmacoma (Portishead Experience)
3. Karmacoma (Napoli Trip)
4. Karmacoma (U.N.K.L.E. Situation)
5. Karmacoma (Bumper Ball Dub)
6. Karmacoma (Ventom Dub Special)
7. Blacksmith/Daydreaming

Disc: 8
1. Risingson (Album Version)
2. Superpredators
3. Risingson (Underdog Mix)
4. Risingson (Otherside)
5. Risingson (Underworld Mix)

Disc: 9
1. Teardrop (LP Version)
2. Teardrop (Scream Team Remix)
3. Teardrop (Mad Professor Mazaruni Vocal Mix)
4. Teardrop (Mad Professor Mazaruni Instrumental)
5. Euro Zero Zero

Disc: 10
1. Angel (Album Version)
2. Angel (Radio Edit)
3. Angel (Blur Remix)
4. Angel (Mad Professor Remix)
5. Group Four (Mad Professor Remix)

Disc: 11
1. Inertia Creeps (Album Version)
2. Inertia Creeps (Radio Edit)
3. Inertia Creeps (Manic Street Preachers Version)
4. Inertia Creeps (State Of Bengal Mix)
5. Inertia Creeps (Alpha Mix)
6. Back/She Comes
7. Reflection

~ by lifeinmonochrome on March 11, 2010.

One Response to “THE MASSIVE”

  1. Password?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: